Committee of Experts, new member 

Dr. Sabine Jordan

New member Committee of Experts

Sabine Jordan is researcher and lecturer at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences in the fields of Agronomy, Soil and Peatland Sciences and Greenhouse Gas Measurements.
Sabine is the Swedish delegate in the executive board of the International Peatland Society (IPS) and executive board member of the German Peat Society (DGMT).
In addition, she is editor for ‘TELMA’, a German journal on all aspects of peat and peatland sciences, and deputy editor for ‘Mires and Peat’, a peer-reviewed internet journal published jointly by the IPS and the International Mire Conservation Group (IMCG).
Sabine is currently working with rewetting of terminated extracted peatlands, but also on agricultural used and forested peatlands with focus on climate-smart after-uses and farming methods.

Prof. Jack Rieley

Leaving the Committee of Experts

With the arrival of Dr. Sabine Jordan, the committee officially says farewell to Prof. Jack Rieley (far right on the photo). Being involved with responsible peatland managing  for many years and in the Committee of Experts for 6 years, RPP is most gratefull for all his contributions.
Jack brought a lot of scientific knowledge and experience to RPP and played an important role in the development of the certification scheme.

Jack is honorary professor at the University of Nottingham in the departments of Botany, Biology and Geography where he taught peatland ecology and management. His research focussed on both peatland and urban ecosystems. In 1987 he turned his attention to tropical peatland in Southeast Asia on which he formed partnerships with over 100 scientists and research students and assistants, publishing many scientific papers and reports. Together with Donal Clarke he is the editor of "Strategy for Responsible Peatland", published by the International Peatland Society in 2010 and revised in 2019. The 'Strategy' is the normative umbrella for the RPP Principles and Criteria. 

RPP wishes him success in his position as Vice President2 at IPS!